AEN  Logo Australian Universities Header

Universities in the Northern Territory

The region of Darwin, Kakadu and Katherine is a spectacular area with an abundance of wildlife and tropical scenery. This is definitely one of Australia's top holiday destinations with thousands of square kilometres of untouched national parks and waterways as well as spectacular gorges and valleys that will take your breath away. There are really only two major cities in this region and the first is the capital of the Northern Territory, Darwin, and the other being the city of Katherine. The most well known national parks in the region are Kakadu, Litchfield and Nitmiluk National Parks. Some of the regions best kept secrets include Katherine Gorge, Bathurst & Melville Islands, Mary River Wetlands, Edith Falls and Mataranka.

Darwin is the capital of the Northern Territory, and enjoys a relaxed, tropical lifestyle. Darwin is an ideal base for visits to spectacular World Heritage areas including Kakadu National Park. Darwin has grown from an early and remote outpost to a thriving modern capital city. As well as galleries and museums, there are nightclubs, theatres, restaurants and a casino. The city houses an amazing history including 3 cyclones, with its worst being Cyclone Tracy in 1974, which destroyed most of the town. Darwin was miraculously rebuilt after the disaster and now houses many galleries and museums, including many Aboriginal collections. Aboriginal culture is very much etched into the community.

Share This Page: